Shire of Katanning Welcomes New Councillors

Published on Thursday, 21 October 2021 at 11:09:35 AM

At a Special Meeting of Council held on Tuesday 19 October 2021, the Shire of Katanning Council re-elected Cr Liz Guidera as President for a further two-year term. Cr John Goodheart was re-elected as Deputy President.

After being re-elected, Cr Liz Guidera thanked the Council for their confidence in her and said that she considered it a privilege to serve the Shire of Katanning as President and that she did not take the role lightly. “Welcome to the new team – it’s a great time to be on Council, right in the thick of the Strategic Community Planning process.  Together we will be building Katanning’s future and ensuring we set a good direction for our community for the coming years” she said.

Before the meeting newly elected Councillors made a declaration of office before local Justice of the Peace and former Shire Councillor Danny McGrath. At the recent local government elections, Cr Kristy D’Aprile was returned to Council and Cr Matt Collis, Cr Michelle Salter and Cr Adrian Edwards were newly elected to Council for four-year terms.

The new Councillors join continuing Councillors Cr Liz Guidera, Cr John Goodheart and Cr Serena Sandwell on the 7 member Council. The number of elected members has been reduced from 9 to 7.

Back to All News