Australia Day in Katanning 2021

Published on Thursday, 28 January 2021 at 4:47:26 PM

The Katanning community came together for a barbeque breakfast on Tuesday 26 January 2021 and welcomed two new Australian Citizens, Judith Tapao and Noor Sahak at a citizenship ceremony conducted by Shire President Liz Guidera.

The Shire of Katanning is proud to support the Australia Day Council WA Community Citizen of the Year Awards which recognise outstanding contribution and community service in the past year in areas such as; education, health, fund-raising, charitable and voluntary services, business, sport, arts, the environment, social inclusion or any other area that contributes to the advancement and wellbeing of a community.

Shire President, Liz Guidera, presented this year’s winners with framed certificates after the Australia Day Breakfast hosted by the Lions Club of Katanning on Saturday 26 January. The award winners of each category were:

  • Citizen of the Year – Jill Kowald
  • Senior Citizen of the Year (over 65 years of age) – Lesley Balinski
  • Youth Citizen of the Year (under 25 years of age) – Georgia Kowald
  • Active Citizenship – Katanning Agricultural Society

Following the Citizen of the Year Awards, the Shire of Katanning presented the Katanning Community Long Service Award which recognises a local person who has provided volunteer service(s) to the Katanning community over a long period of time. This year the winners were Kenny Quartermaine and Gail Butterworth.

In addition to the Australia Day Awards, the Shire of Katanning presented two Certificates of Appreciation to members of the community for their contibutions during and after the Katanning Bushfire in February 2020. They were awarded to Trevor Kowald, and Tania and Clynton Edwards.

The guest speaker for the day was Australia Day Ambassador, Grace Mugabe, who is the founder & CEO of Financially Empowered. Grace assists women and the migrant community to build their financial confidence, giving them the ability to interpret their financials and upskilling them to become financially independent.

From left to right: Gail Butterworth, Tania Edwards, Kenny Quartermaine, Shire President Liz Guidera, Georgia Kowald, Lesley Balinski, Jill Kowald and Rosalie Baxter.

Back to All News